Error 500 obtained from: https://oyster.tfl.gov.uk/tfl-oyster

Hi everyone, I’m not a technical person, just a citizen of US trying to get an Oyster Card from this website. I have tried several times to get a card but each time I get an Error 500 message. Is there some secret to obtaining one, that I don’t know about? I’m visiting England in May and thought it would be a good idea to get an Oyster card for getting around London before I left the US. I know I will be arriving tired and cranky and didn’t want to deal with this upon arriving at Heathrow. Any help would be appreciated.

Hi @sharolene you need to purchase a visitor oyster card. You can do that here https://visitorshop.tfl.gov.uk/tfl/london-visitor-oyster-card/
Hope this helps!
Theo

Thank you Theo! Hopefully this link works. Do you think $35 is enough to begin? I would be using it to get to and from Heathrow and bopping around London for 3 days, to and from the Piccadilly area.

I’m not an expert on fares but Heathrow is in zone 6 so a one way pay as you go fare to Central London (Zone 1) is £12.80. There’s more fares info here: http://content.tfl.gov.uk/adult-fares-2019.pdf but if you want advice from more knowledgeable people than me you can contact us by phone or by sending us a Facebook or Twitter message. Details here: Help & contacts - Transport for London

I guess you will be needing the

If you have a contactless payment card, or Apple Pay or Google Pay, you can use your phone with gates too. This is always the same price (or cheaper) than Oyster.

You can also grab a Oyster card from the machines at the stations. At least one will dispense a blank card for a £5 deposit.

Thanks so much. I do not have a phone that will handle a contactless payment unfortunately. I have a Microsoft phone which, although it’s a great phone and great for getting onto the net, it’s limited on useable apps.

A few more bits of advice (whether you want them or not!).