Metropolitan line "000" trains at Harrow on The Hill

Hi, I’m new to this so forgive me if it’s been asked before. I have searched the forum though, particularly for advice on vehicleIDs that are “000” and the situation on the Met line right now doesn’t seem to fit the answers.

The problem relates to the ‘Arrivals’ API (https://api.tfl.gov.uk/Line/metropolitan/Arrivals) and it affects not just the app I’m tinkering with but all the commercial services, TFL and Citymapper.

Trains start from Aldgate with ‘sensible’ vehicleIDs, a clear destination and direction and send out arrival predictions for stops on their route. When they get to Harrow on the Hill, they disappear, to be replaced by a vehicleID of 000, no destination, no direction and put out predictions for every stop beyond Harrow, on every branch. This set of impossible promises gets sorted out in time, usually about five minutes, and the train will reappear - usually: sometimes with a new vehicleID, sometimes not. In particular the Amersham/Chesham trains may not make their mind up as to where they are going until the last minute, making the Amersham and Chesham arrival predictions quite random.

This obviously doesn’t affect the passengers, the Chesham train goes to Chesham. However if you look at the TFL or Citymapper boards, you’ll see train arrivals appearing and disappearing without warning or explanation and this is part of the reason why.

It might have something to do with driver changes at Harrow. It may just be the way that things are and we have to live with it. It does highlight something that would be useful in the Arrivals API (for a number of reasons) and that is some kind of ‘object permanence’. At the moment there’s no way of identifying a physical train - vehicleIDs could do this, but they change and are often duplicated, hence the problems above.